Future and Awards Lunch

The Arizona Broadcasting Future and Awards Lunch previews new broadcasting trends and ABA focus areas to help protect business. We also induct a select few Arizona radio and TV leaders into our Arizona Broadcasters Hall of Fame.

This year’s event took place on Wednesday, September 28, 2022 at Talking Stick Resort in Scottsdale.

Hall of Fame inductees for 2021 include: 


Mark has been a recognizable face on Phoenix TV since 1980 when he joined 12News (KPNX-TV) as a sports reporter. After leaving Arizona in 1987 to grow his career, he came back to 12News in 1995 as Chief Sports Anchor before moving to Evening News Anchor in 2004. Mark has covered just about every big story in Arizona over the last two decades and has a passion for the political world in Arizona. He’s won more than a dozen high profile awards during his career that range from Emmys to Murrows and is now one of Arizona’s longest serving news anchors in state history.


Susan has spent 30+ years in Arizona radio, perhaps most prominently as Executive Vice President of Operations for Western Major Markets at Clear Channel Radio and now as VP of Sales at Hubbard Radio Phoenix. Susan has been named to the list of the “50 Most Influential Women in Radio” and was also the first radio-industry executive inducted into ASU’s Walter Cronkite School Alumni Hall of Fame. Susan is an avid community supporter, involved with several organizations throughout her career and currently serves on the Endowment Board of Trustees at the Walter Cronkite School in Phoenix.


Scott started his broadcasting career while in college at the University of Arizona. He got part-time jobs at Tucson’s KGUN-TV and KUAT-TV, as well as summer work at Phoenix’s KTVK-TV, and received a $100 scholarship from the ABA to help him invest in the business. After college, he went to work in sales at KGUN, growing through the ranks to General Manager in 1978. He was elected ABA Board Chair, joined the ABC affiliate board and NAB board and eventually left the GM chair to become the Director of Network Television Development for the Tucson-based Muscular Dystrophy Association.

Hall of Fame inductees for 2020 include: 


Jeanne-Marie is an innovator behind some of America’s largest radio networks.  She started her Arizona broadcasting career in media sales before helping to launch Arizona-based startup Skyview Networks in the 1990s. Over the course of 25 years, she built a local radio syndication brand that now partners with nearly every major sports brand and has 100% coverage across the country. As the syndicator for national brands like ABC Audio and CBS Audio, she also led the sales strategy to keep both brands dominant in music, news and sports. Jeanne-Marie is now the President of Network Partnerships and Chief Revenue Officer of Skyview Networks, overseeing a team of 100. In Arizona, Skyview programming airs on 50 stations. Across America, that number is 9,000!


Jim is one of the biggest names in Arizona news. He has spent 40 years in broadcasting, with 25 of them right here in Arizona. His Arizona career in broadcasting began at KAAA radio in Kingman where he spent five years as a reporter before moving to Phoenix to join KTAR news. Jim has spent the last 20 years at the all-news station as a reporter, historian and lead storyteller for Arizona’s biggest events.  Known for his iconic voice, Jim’s community passion has always been working with firefighters to make sure their stories are told.


Larry is a Phoenix radio pioneer. He spent nearly 30 years helping to create Phoenix country radio powerhouse station KNIX. Under his leadership, the station garnered seven CMA Station of the Year Awards, five ACM Station of the Year Awards, two Billboard Magazine Awards, and three Marconi Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting. During his tenure, Larry was also an active community partner, serving as a board member at the American Cancer Society, East Valley Child Crisis Center, Police and Fire Toy Drive, Great Arizona Bike Ride and Country Music Association in Nashville. In 2007, he was inducted into the Radio Broadcasters Hall of Fame.

Have a nomination to make?  The ABA accepts nominations year-round! Submit nominees now:
Hall of Fame                    Newcomer of the Year

Complete Arizona Broadcasters Hall of Fame

Rex Allen
Tom Chauncey
Dick Gilbert
John R. “Jack” Williams

Virginia Mittendorf
Willard Shoecraft
“Wallace & Ladmo Show”

Lew King
Homer Lane
George Wallace, Jr.

Bill Lester
Jack Murphy
Buck Owens

Steve Allen
Jewell Lewis
Ray Smucker

Chuck Blore
Jeanne Metzger Michael
John Redfield

Joe Crystall
Joe Dana
Bea Hoeksema
Ira Lavin

Ken Heady
Delbert Lewis
Mary Jo West

Gene Autry
Guy Christian
Bill Close
Jack Jacobson

Bob Ellis
Larry Schnebly
Lee Shoblom
Ray Thompson

Dick De Angelis
Gary Edens
Frank Kalil
Joe Tabback

Rita Davenport
Ray Odom
Jim Slone

C.E. “Pep” Cooney
Phyllis Ehlinger
Lou Silverstein

Karl Eller
Larry John
Jack Parris

Jack Clifford
Bill Heywood
Al McCoy
Jon Ruby

Pat McMahon
Bill Miller
Roy Track
Charlie Van Dyke

Bob Allingham
Hugh Downs
Norm Ginsburg
Marge Injasoulian

Chuck Artigue
Bob Lee
Beth McDonald

Jim Arnold
Ron Bergamo
Betty Waters
Preston Westmoreland
Gary Steven Woodworth

Kent Dana
Bud Foster
W. Steven Martin
Dave Pratt

Guy Atchley
Ned Foster
Joe Garagiola, Sr.

Bill Austin
Patti Kirkpatrick
Tim Hattrick
Willy D. Loon

Tom Chauncey II
Brian Jefferies
Linda Turley

Lin Sue Cooney
Jack Miller
Bill Phalen
Bobby Rich

Sharon Kelley
Ray Lindstrom
Todd Wallace
Linda Williams

Bill Buckmaster
Tom Dillon
Maurie Helle
Barry Young

Jineane Ford
Bill Mortimer
Dave Munsey
Jim Taszarek “Taz”

Jan D’Atri
Bob Davies
Steve Goddard
Allen Kath
Michael Owens

Art Brooks
J.D. Freeman
“Johnjay & Rich”
Donna Rossi

Loy Engelhardt
Marty Manning
Ernesto Portillo

Jim Cross
Larry Daniels
Jeanne-Marie Condo

Mark Curtis
Susan Karis
Scott Vaughan

Have a nomination to make?  The ABA accepts nominations year-round! Submit nominees now:
Hall of Fame                    Newcomer of the Year