About Us


The Arizona Broadcasters Association is a 501-c(6) non-profit corporation that acts as the official trade association for Arizona’s local radio and TV stations.

ABA membership includes more than 225 radio stations, television stations and associate members, and is led by a President/CEO and governed by a board of directors. Read our board minutes and see our bylaws/codes of conduct here.

As priority #1, we promote and protect the unique services provided by Arizona’s local broadcasting industry, with a focus in three areas:

ABA Office:
555 N Central Avenue Suite 302
Phoenix AZ 85004


The ABA funds Arizona’s only broadcast lobbyist at the state legislature, offers station protection programs to prevent routine FCC inspections and fines, provides free personalized and on-demand training, and promotes the voice of Arizona broadcasters on Capitol Hill in Washington to better influence fair regulation. The ABA also supports the defense of independent journalism with financial support of major Arizona legal fights.


The ABA invests heavily in the next generation of Arizona broadcasters too, funding paid internships for member stations and partnering with universities and trade schools to award scholarships and build more effective recruiting programs. Each year, the ABA also commissions an independent study of consumer media use in Arizona and is now investing in paid marketing efforts to help promote over-the-air TV and radio as free alternatives to paid subscription services.


The ABA connects broadcasters with the key leaders across Arizona who can help them grow their stations, providing ad agency advocacy, broadcast legal support, and vendor introductions. The ABA also invests in building relationships with government agencies and nonprofit organizations on behalf of Arizona broadcasters, offering these organizations deeply discounted ways to share their messages in the public interest.

The ABA is a member of the National Alliance of State Broadcasters Associations and supports the programs of the National Association of Broadcasters.

We rely on the support of the Arizona community to help ensure local broadcasting thrives in our state.

You can support the Arizona Broadcasters Association in multiple ways:

Join the ABA as a station or associate member
Participate in our PEP program
Attend ABA fundraisers and events
Sign up for our twice monthly emails
Make a one-time or recurring donation
– Act as an active consumer of local radio and TV!

Subscribe to ABA Emails

* indicates required
I work at a...

Check out our previous emails

Arizona Broadcasters Association Team

Chris Kline
Chris Kline
President and CEO
Barbeth Shea Pinkney
Barbeth Shea Pinkney
Development Director

Tom Chauncey, ABA General Counsel

Bryan Marriot, ABA P1 Digital Trainings

Patty Henningsen, ABA PEP Reporting

John Moody, ABA Arizona Legislative Lobbyist

Dawn Sciarrino, ABA FCC Lawyer

Steve Campbell, ABA Broadcast Compliance Inspector

Lisa Jackson, ABA Accounting

2023 ABA Board Executive Committee

Andrew Deschapelles, Telemundo (Statewide)

Vice Chair:
Patty Ruiz, Bustos Media (Tucson)

Debbie Bush, Gray TV (Phoenix)

Past Chair:
Scott Sutherland, Bonneville (Phoenix)

2023 ABA Board Members

Mike Barna, Barna Broadcasting (Wickenburg)

Brian Cisek, Londen Media (Phoenix/Prescott)

Sanford Cohen, Arizona Hometown (Prescott)

Anita Helt, EW Scripps (Phoenix)

Steve Hoshor, Great Circle Media (Flagstaff)

Linda Little, iHeart (Phoenix)

Michael Mallace, East Valley Institute of Tech (Phoenix)

Trip Reeb, Hubbard (Phoenix)

Jim Ryan, Salem Media (Phoenix)

Tregg White, EW Scripps (Tucson)