The Arizona Broadcasters Association (ABA) is pleased to announce three broadcasters who in September will be inducted into the Arizona Broadcasters Hall of Fame:

Loy Engelhardt has been in radio for 53 years and over the past 41 years has become the “Voice of the Winslow Dawg’s” on Winslow’s radio station KINO. He is owner and general manager of the station, but his role goes far beyond that. Through the decades, Winslow has lost its local newspaper and daily circular; however, Loy has remained dedicated to providing Winslow and the surrounding community with multiple local newscasts daily as well as delivering the play by play of more than 100 local high school games annually.

Marty Manning has spent 50 years working in radio, with the last 34 of them at KESZ (99.9 KEZ) in Phoenix. His voice is easily one of the most recognizable in the Valley, and not just because he’s done the same thing over all his years in the business. Manning may be best known as the “Man on the Street” for 99.9 over the last 30 years, but he has also become an advocate for the local community. He has hosted and produced a Valley Views public affairs program, talking to hundreds local organizations during its run. For 14 years, he’s also piloted 99.9 KEZ’s Excellence In Education program recognizing Arizona’s educators.

Ernesto Portillo spent nearly 50 years as a leading Spanish language personality in the Tucson market, appearing not only on the radio, but also on a myriad of TV programs. His programs and the stations he ran were popular not just for the programming, but also because of their total commitment to and involvement in the community. Broadcasters serve the public interest as much as they maintain a private business, and Ernesto Portillo is the perfect example of that. Over the years, he has been a leader in helping to support the La Frontera Mental Health Center and YMCA. He was also instrumental in starting Kino Mission Tours for people to learn the history and culture of our neighbor, Sonora, Mexico.

Engelhardt, Manning and Portillo will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Arizona Broadcasting Future and Awards Lunch on September 10 at Talking Stick Resort in Scottsdale, Arizona. In addition to honoring Hall of Fame inductees, the event brings the state’s broadcasters together to preview the new technology and consumer broadcasting trends coming to life in 2020 and review the state of the industry. The ABA will also introduce a new award at the Lunch this year to recognize outstanding newcomers to the broadcasting business who are already making waves to help build the future of our industry.

The 2019 Newcomer of the Year award will be presented to the following three individuals:
• Christine Anewalt, KPNX-TV – an account executive who has already hit the ground running with innovative solutions to both drive revenue and grow the community.

• Courtland Jeffrey, KNXV-TV – a data visualization specialist who has literally changed the face of interactive media to build fully immersive experiences for Arizona audiences.

• Griselda Zetino, KTAR-FM – a reporter who has developed a diverse skillset and quickly become her station’s go-to resource for some of the most important and difficult topics facing Arizona.

Registration to attend the Arizona Broadcasting Future and Awards lunch is now open. Proceeds from the Lunch support important ABA programs including Arizona’s AMBER Alert system, broadcast scholarships and workshops to build the next generation of broadcasters, and member support services that can build Arizona’s current broadcast businesses stronger.